Tags

, , ,

Did you know on 04/Dec/2014, the House of Representatives agreed to House Resolution (abbreviated H. Res.) 758 which, “Strongly condemning the actions of the Russian Federation under President Vladimir Putin which has carried out a policy of aggression against neighboring countries aimed at political and economic domination.” View here – https://www.govtrack.us/congress/bills/113/hres758

As one can clearly see reviewing this piece of legislation, the United States appears to be on the brink of war with Russia. So, while we revel at the lower fossil fuel prices, chatter around the water cooler about racial tensions in America and worry about where the money will come from to pay for holiday gifts, let alone the mortgage, the elected officials of our great nation have all but fired the first shot at an enemy that has been lurking behind the “red curtain” for decades.

This legislation went through 411/10 with 13 not voting. This is equal to 95% of the House of Representatives. Who says we can’t be “bi-partisan?” Now, since finding out about this, I have asked a few people, do you think we should go to war with Russia? Care to guess their response? Unanimously, “No”. How about you? Based on what you know today, does America need to start World War III?

After review, I was compelled to find out the 10 Representatives which exhibited the courage to vote against such propaganda and falsehoods. Being from Michigan, I have to say I am proud to say one of our Representatives, Justin Amash from Michigan’s 3rd District. was willing to stand up to the establishment and vote “Nay.” Selecting his name to me took me to the following site,  https://www.govtrack.us/congress/members/justin_amash/412438 where I found a link to “Amash’s Official Site” – http://amash.house.gov/. Similar to most websites, there was a Contact button and when selected, there was an option to “Email Me”, which I selected and ended up here – https://amash.house.gov/contact-me/email-me. What I found, is why I titled this post political disconnect – abridging freedom of speech. Here is a screenshot:

Step One – Zip Authentication

* marks required fields of data.

Your Zip CodeRegrettably, I am unable to reply to any e-mail from constituents outside of the district. Please enter your zip code to verify residency and go to the next step:
* Zip Code:

Of course, I went ahead and entered my Zip Code even though I live in District 12, only to receive the following message:

Zip Code Authentication Failed

The zip code entered indicates that you reside outside the 3rd Congressional District of Michigan. Due to the large volume of US mail, emails and faxes I receive, I am only able to accept messages from residents of the 3rd District.

If you are a resident of another district, I encourage you to use the Find Your Representative Service available at www.House.gov to learn how to contact your Representative in Congress.

Regrettably, I do not want to contact MY state representative. I did however want to email and thank a fellow Michigan resident and State Representative Justin Amash, urging him to continue the crusade to vote based on his constituents and not be swayed to change to the tune of “the establishment.” However, the USGOV site (paid for with American Tax dollars) has determined that only those within the Representatives zip code area may reach out to them electronically and those not within their District, well, I suspect one would have to find another way to communicate to them. Violation of Freedom of Speech? Probably not, but, in this lightening fast technological world we reside, I must admit, I cannot tell you the last time I sent a letter via US Mail to a relative, let alone a State Representative. Of course this raises another question; if I were to send a hand written addressed letter to Mr. Amash, or any other State Representative (other than my own), is there a filtering mechanism that if the zip code from the sending address on the envelope is outside of the Representatives area of responsibility, does the letter immediately “Return to Sender” or re route to a circular file?

